Quentin Tarantino Will Receive Special Recognition For His Use Of Music In Film At The Critics’ Choice Movie Awards


57495105rnrnWhether it was John Travolta and Uma Thurman doing the Twist to “You Never Can Tell” in Pulp Fiction, the way that the use of “Across 110th Street” in the opening credits of Jackie Brown sets an elegiac tone for the rest of the film, or Michael Madsen’s infamous ear-slicing scene scored by “Stuck In The Middle With You,” there are few auteurs who make better use of music in their films than Quentin Tarantino. It is this particular expertise that the Broadcast Film Critics Association will honor with a special award at this weekend’s Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, airing live on VH1 at 9pm ET on Friday, January 14. For more information, please take a gander at the following press release that *just* hit the wires.rnrn

rnrn(SANTA MONICA, CA – January 10, 2011) — The Broadcast Film Critics Association (BFCA) will present Quentin Tarantino with its first ever Critics’ Choice Music+Film Award at the 16th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards. The all new Critics’ Choice Music+Film Award was created to honor a single filmmaker who has not only inspired moviegoers with his cinematic storytelling, but has heightened the impact of film through the brilliant use of source and soundtrack music. Maroon 5 will play a special tribute with performances of music from some of Tarantino’s most memorable movies. The ceremony will air live on VH1 on Friday, January 14 at 9:00 PM ET/PT from the Hollywood Palladium.rnrnThe inaugural Music+Film Award will honor director Quentin Tarantino who, throughout his career, has truly harnessed the power of a single song and created unforgettable, heart-breaking, exhilarating, and always dynamic moments that remain in the minds of his audience. His mastery of the artful integration of music and film can be seen in such classic movies as Pulp Fiction, Reservoir Dogs, Kill Bill: Vol 1 & 2, and most recently, Inglourious Basterds.rn


rnCounting down to the live premiere of the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, VH1 and MTV will air the 16th Annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards Red Carpet Pre-Show live on Friday, January 14 at 8:00 PM ET/PT. Covering the excitement of the celebrity arrivals on the red carpet will be co-hosts Tim Kash and La La Vazquez. The pre-show will also be available on CriticsChoice.VH1.com. rnrnThe 250 members of the BFCA, the largest film critics’ organization in the United States and Canada, representing television, radio and online critics, selected nominees in each of 25 categories. The awards are bestowed annually to honor the finest in cinematic achievement. Eligible films were released in 2010. The accounting firm of Gregory A. Mogab tallied the written ballots. rnrnHistorically, the Critics’ Choice Movie Awards are the most accurate predictor of the Academy Award nominations. All four major acting category winners at the Academy Awards in 2010 were first Critics’ Choice Movie Awards winners in the same categories and were present at the January 15, 2010 ceremony to graciously give their first acceptance speeches of the awards season. The BFCA also recognized The Hurt Locker for “Best Picture” and Kathryn Bigelow as “Best Director,” making her the first female to win the award. The Hurt Locker and Bigelow also went on to win the Academy Award for “Best Picture” and “Best Director” but were both overlooked at the Golden Globes.rnrnThe 16th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards, honoring the finest in cinematic achievement among 2010 film releases, announced its nominees on Monday, December 13, 2010. Final ballots will go out to the BFCA members today with the deadline for returning final ballots happening on January 12, 2011. For a full list of this year’s nominees and information about the show visit CriticsChoice.VH1.com. The site also offers VH1.com’s Award Season Twitter Tracker where users can see the awards show buzz that’s happening on Twitter in real time and Quick Critic, an opportunity to share short film reviews for a prize that includes a trip for two to next year’s Critics’ Choice Movie Awards. Additionally, interviews with many of the acting nominees can be found on the BFCAs’ site CriticsChoice.com.rnrnThe 16th annual Critics’ Choice Movie Awards is executive produced by Jesse Ignjatovic for Den of Thieves, Joey Berlin for Berlin Entertainment and Lee Rolontz for VH1.

rnrn[Photo Credit: Getty Images]

related stories
you might like
Powered By Zergnet