Rebecca Black Confirmed For O Music Awards Appearance, While Daryl Hall Picks Up An Award

by (@unclegrambo)

Daryl Hall and Rebecca Black are two names that we never expected to occupying the same headline, but that’s just part of the beauty of the inaugural O Music Awards. Daryl is, of course, one half of the most popular successful duo in musical history —Hall & Oates racked up 34 Top 100 singles, including six #1s!— and, well, Rebecca has been internet famous for six weeks or so, during which time her “Friday” video has been streamed over 120 million times on YouTube alone.

Daryl just picked up his first O Music Award in the category Best Performance Series for his outstanding web-only broadcast, Live From Daryl’s House. If this show has missed your radar, well, now’s as good a time as any to catch up! Be sure and check out his recent collaborations with You Oughta Know fave Fitz & The Tantrums and one of this writer’s all-time favorite bands, Guster, to get a feel for the show.

And as far as Rebecca is concerned, a press release just hit the wires about her appearance on the show tomorrow night. Follow along for the whole shebang…


April 27, 2011 ? Viral sensation Rebecca Black is slated to appear at MTV?s inaugural O Music Awards,, a multiplatform franchise and award event that celebrates and honors the art, creativity, personality, technology and migration of music into the digital space. Black will appear alongside performers Matt & Kim and Chiddy Bang live from a surprise location in Las Vegas on Thursday, April 28th at 11pm ET/8pm ET at

With an iconic surprise location in Las Vegas serving as the backdrop, the O Music Awards will showcase a variety of artist performances and appearances by web celebrities and innovators. Leading up to the main event on Thursday night, each day MTV Music Group is announcing two or more of the fan voted award winners, which have included Andy Grammar?s Keep Your Head as Most Innovative Music Video, F**k Yeah Adam Lambert as Best F**k Tumblr, Aquarium Drunkard as Best Independent Music Blog and Nicki Minaj Gum Twirl as Best Animated Gif. The awards are presented in a multitude of ways, including live streaming, viral videos, announcements on social media and winner acceptances via digital video conferencing.

In less than a month, nearly 3 million votes were cast via, social media and mobile voting. O Music Awards will be promoted from,, and, mobile web and the MTV News app and MTV?s international websites across more than 150 territories, and include heavy integration with social media.

The main event on April 28th will jump start at 11:30am PT as Chidera ?Chiddy? Anamege of the alternative hip hop group Chiddy Bang attempts to set the Guinness World Records? title for the ?Longest Freestyle Rap? while also simultaneously breaking the ?Longest Marathon Rapping? record. Fans will be able to watch every minute of the world record attempt at and can tweet topics for him to freestyle during the attempt on Twitter via #RapWorldRecord.

The award event will begin when a flash mob will descend upon a surprise iconic Las Vegas location that will serve as the backdrop for the festivities. Matt & Kim will kick off the show and be featured predominately throughout the live event. Additional performers include Chiddy Bang, Lil B, Lupe Fiasco, Mumford & Sons with Edward Sharpe and Old Crow Medicine Show, and Foster the People, who will perform at the central hub in Las Vegas, as well as other locations from around the country. Presenters include Ke$ha, Cee Lo Green, B.o.B, Wiz Khalifa, Robyn and Theophilus London.

Throughout the live event, fans will have multiple camera feeds to select from, including a feed of the awards show, as well as separate feeds featuring the attempt to break the world record, as well as an audience cam.

Lady Gaga and Odd Future?s Tyler the Creator lead with 3 nominations each, followed by Kanye West, The Flaming Lips and Nicki Minaj with two nominations apiece. Additional nominated artists include Arcade Fire, Radiohead, Justin Bieber, Lil B, Wiz Khalifa, Robyn, OK Go and Katy Perry. Other notable nominees include Antoine Dodson/Gregory Brothers (Funniest Music Short), The Lonely Island (Funniest Music Short), Funny or Die (Funniest Music Short), Gorilla vs Bear (Best Independent Music Blog), The Hype Machine (Best Music Discovery Service), Pandora (Best Music Discovery Service), Tiny Desk Concerts (Best Performance Series) and Marshall Jones (Best Music Hack).

The inaugural sponsors of O Music Awards are adidas, Ford, FUZE?, L?Oreal and T-Mobile. Each advertiser will present one or more award categories and be featured prominently throughout the live event.

Following the live event, on Friday, April 29th, the final three awards will be announced. The O Music Award website will continue to spotlight and herald innovation in the digital music space and will periodically continue to award recipients based on fan demand.

related stories
you might like
Powered By Zergnet