MTV2’s Sucker Free Awards Honors Rick Ross, Celebrates Rap and Hip Hop’s Hottest Artists

by (@Lacezilla)

Last night, MTV2 debuted its first annual Sucker Free Awards. Taped in November at Sunday night hot spot LIV Fountainbleau Miami Beach, the 7-category award show’s party atmosphere was hosted by MTV’s Sway Calloway and featured interview packages of and appearances and performances by most of today’s hot hip hop artists.

Chiming in with their well-informed two cents was Sucker Free Countdown host DJ Envy, Hot 97’s Miss Info and Funkmaster Flex, Jersey Shore’s Pauly D., and Power 105/MTV2’s Guy Code commentator Charlemagne The God. On the heels of last week’s debated Grammy nominations, unconventional categories like Club Banger Of The Year (awarded to Jay-Z and Kanye’s “N***** In Paris”) and Who’s Got Next showcased hip hop’s progressive nature, often nodding at mixtape popularity and artist buzz to govern the nominations instead of full album releases. But albums did get their shine, too; the Classic Album Of The Year category managed to merge hip hop’s “we need a board” mentality with popular culture.

While Odd Future’s Tyler The Creator took home Rookie Of The Year and Must Follow (on Twitter) awards, MMG’s fearless leader Rick Ross snagged Artist Of The Year and helped usher in his Philly protege Meek Mill’s win for Who’s Got Next and made enough noise for his WB posse to be nominated for Best Crew Of 2011. The latter category, however, was lost to YMCMB who celebrated by closing the show with Birdman’s new Lil’ Wayne and Nicki Minaj-featured single, “Y U Mad.” For the full list of winners and highlights from the show, head on over to MTV2’s Sucker Free page.

Get More: Sucker Free, Full Episodes