Playlist: Listen To All Of The Songs Featured On Your Favorite VH1 Shows During The Month Of February


VH1 CMI Playlist for February 2012

For each and every show that airs on VH1, a team of music supervisors here at the network have spent countless hours determining exactly what pieces of music best complement the footage that we have shot. This team —the CMI (Creative Music Integration) group— listen to thousands of songs each month in an attempt to figure out how best to utilize musical cues to reinforce the emotion and drama on shows like Mob Wives and Basketball Wives, so we thought it would be a cool idea to give you an inside glimpse into their world.

Each month, we’ll put together a list of all the songs that have been featured on the programs and promos that you see on VH1, which will be accompanied by two things: Specific commentary from the music supervisor as to why they selected a particular song for a particular scene in a show, as well as a Spotify playlist for you to sample these songs. Without further ado, here are all the songs that we featured on VH1 during the month of February!

(Listen to the playlist on Spotify)


  • Deluka‘s “OMFG” in the theme for 40 Greatest TRL Moments

  • Ellie Goulding‘s “Starry Eyed” is featured in VH1’s 100 Greatest Women in Music promo
  • Carmen Liana’s “Who I Am” in Black History Month Promo
    “When the promos department approached us for ideas on a song to be used in several Black History Month promos, Carmen Liana’s ‘Who I Am’ immediately came to mind. It’s a driving track with a touch of attitude in the hook that catches your attention. Lyrically, the theme of the song, which celebrates embracing your identity, ties in nicely with Black History Month.“—Lacey, VH1/CMI Department Assistant


  • Katie Herzig‘s “Make a Noise” is featured in Mob Wives #206

  • Pauline’s “Never Said I Was An Angel” is featured in Mob Wives #206
  • Juliette Ashby‘s “Bounce Right Back” is featured in Mob Wives #206
  • Civil Twilight‘s “Fire Escape” is featured in Mob Wives #207
    “The editor was looking for an edgy song with some energy to transition the audience to a dinner with Drita and Carla. Carla seems a bit apprehensive about telling Drita she met with Ramona because of the way Drita might react. The music fit the vibe the editor was going for and lyrics ‘We are burning, this is real / Everybody out it’s the fire escape” speak to Carla’s uneasiness about this impending meeting.”Isaac, VH1 CMI Music Supervisor

  • Nabiha‘s “Deep Sleep” is featured in Mob Wives #207
  • Alex Goose & Jake Troth’s “Sunday Smile” is featured in Mob Wives #207
  • Gotye‘s “Smoke and Mirrors” is featured in Mob Wives #207


  • Nabiha‘s “Computer Love” and “You” are featured in Basketball Wives #401
    “‘You’ by Nabiha plays throughout the very last scene of Season 4’s premiere. The music and lyrics could not have been more appropriate for the drama surrounding Jenn and Evelyn’s friendship. When
    both sides refuse to give up any ground, Nabiha sings ‘I wonder if things are going to change.’ The uncertainty doesn’t last long as Evelyn quickly lets Jenn know they’re enemies from here on out. ‘You’ perfectly compliments Evelyn’s stubborn demeanor and animosity toward Jenn.”
    Isaac, VH1 CMI Music Supervisor

  • Elle Varner‘s “So Fly” is featured in Basketball Wives #402
    “We chose ‘So Fly’ by up-and-coming R&B songstress Elle Varner because it has a great celebratory sound and story. It fit well with the scene in which Royce displayed a lack of confidence in herself, only to find out she got the part in the play. We’re excited to hear Elle’s full album, which is scheduled to be released later this year.”Tracey, VH1 CMI Music Coodinator

  • Juliette Ashby’s “Crazy” is featured in Basketball Wives #402

Remember, you can listen to all these songs on Spotify by subscribing to the following playlist: VH1 Shows Playlist: February 2012

related stories
you might like
Powered By Zergnet