The xx Debut Pretty New Single “Angels”

by (@zaragolden)

We’ve been waiting for this! The xx have finally debuted proper “Angels,” a pretty first single off their much anticipated sophomore effort Coexist. Much like their eponymous debut album — and even some of their blockbuster side projects since — the oh-so-delicate love song is a carefully crafted and coy affair. “The end comes to soon, like dreaming of angels,” sings a yearning Romy Madley Croft‘s, before adding a long few beats later, “and leaving without them.” Tantalizing in how spare it is, the song builds slowly to a cluster of drum rolls before it gently decrescendos like an exhale to the close.

Coexist is out September 11th in the U.S. via Young Turks. Enjoy “Angels” above, and check out the album’s cover and tracklist below.

Coexist tracklist:
1. Angels
2. Chained
3. Fiction
4. Try
5. Reunion
6. Sunset
7. Missing
8. Tides
9. Unfold
10. Swept Away
11. Our Song

Listen: New Single From the xx: “Angels”, Plus New Tour Dates, Coexist Album Cover, Tracklist [Pitchfork]

related stories
you might like
Powered By Zergnet