Madonna Just Pulled A Beyonce With Her New Album, ‘Rebel Heart’

Madonna just pulled a Beyoncé (kind of).

Early Saturday morning, the Material Girl gave fans a holiday surprise of epic proportions: An album announcement and six new songs to download instantly. It’s official, guys: Madge’s 13th studio album is called Rebel Heart and you can pre-order it right now. Once you do, you’ll unlock six tracks from the LP: “Living For Love,” “Devil Pray,” “Ghosttown,” “Unapologetic Bitch,” “Illuminati” and “Bitch I’m Madonna (feat. Nicki Minaj).”

The release comes days after 13 rough demos of Madonna’s new record hit the Internet, which Madge called “artistic rape” in an Instagram post that was later deleted. The pop queen was also the victim of hackers around Thanksgiving when early cuts of her tracks “Rebel Heart” and “Wash All Over Me” hit the Web.

“I was hoping to release my new single ’Living for Love’ on Valentine’s Day with the rest of the album coming in the spring,” Madonna said in a statement. “I would prefer my fans to hear completed versions of some of the songs instead of the incomplete tracks that are circulating. Please consider these six songs as an early Christmas gift.” According to a press release sent by Madonna’s team, producers on Rebel Heart include Diplo —a frequent face on Madge’s Instagram — Kanye West and Billboard.

And it looks like she’s reinvented herself again. The six new tracks on Rebel Heart sound fresh while still remaining true to Madonna’s dancehall roots. “Living For Love” recalls the ’90s nightclub euphoria of Erotica with a new dubstep flavor. “Devil Pray” harkens back to her American Life aesthetic, blending pounding electro beats with handclaps and guitar riffs.

Embedded from